“The midwife considers the miracle of childbirth as normal, and leaves it alone unless there’s trouble. The obstetrician normally sees childbirth as trouble; if he leaves it alone, it’s a miracle.”–Sheila Stubbs

Yesterday, I had my 25 week appointment with my fantastic midwife, Meredith.  Boy, did we have a lot of catching-up to do!  I told her about the hospital visit and the lab results.  She seemed completely unfazed.  She confirmed that, most of the time, Sjogren’s is just more of an irritant and I’d have to see my regular doctor and dentist after I deliver.

She said the baby’s heart rate was spot-on to what it was supposed to be and I’ll be starting my two-week appointments from now until my third trimester when I’ll go weekly, but that I can drop by any time Sam’s being quiet to check him on the doppler if I got really worried.  Sam has been the polar opposite from Gabe as far as movement goes.  By this time, Gabe had regular a regular wake-sleep cycle that I could could always count on.  Sam seems to be very laissez-faire about the whole being-active thing, so periods of quiet don’t concern me as much.

She also reminded me about having already had my first round of rhogam, so of course, I would test positive for the antibodies that were detected.  She didn’t say there was any reason to run a fetal EKG considering his heart beats per minute were exactly where they should be, which is a great load off my shoulders.  She again told me that the preterm labor swab they did at the hospital was completely unnecessary and faulty as my cervix is still closed and I’m not having regular contractions.

When I told her what the OB said about me not being “a patient for a midwife,” I thought she was about to jump up and go find him so she could deck him one!  Apparently, Dr. Leach didn’t even bother to mention that he’d called because he thought that OB was full of baloney.  She was outraged at the way he completely ignored my history and flat out didn’t believe what he said about me putting Sam in mortal danger from being heavy.  For the rest of the visit, every time she mentioned an upcoming appointment or test, she ended her sentences, “Because we take such horrible care of you and all!”

I also mentioned to her my high-level of anxiety and crazy mood swings I’ve been experiencing.  While it’s completely natural for pregnant women to be all over the place emotionally, this pregnancy has taken me to a whole new level of preggo-crazy (and this is from the lady who had a melt-down over misplacing some DVDs and accidentally killing a moth last time around).  She prescribed me with an anxiety medicine to try out for the next few weeks so I don’t stress myself into delivery.  For all of those people who have been dealing with my obsessive-over-emotional-sobbing-or-yelling moods over the past few months… sorry!  I got some happy pills now!  So far, they seem to make me REALLY awake.  Not quite sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing yet.

Next appointment is in two weeks, so I’ll update then!

2 thoughts on “

  1. I love your blog Allie! You are such a great writer and I can feel you voice when I read it! Continue to update us on the SCH FB group when you have a new entry! Lots of thoughts and prayers coming your way!

Leave a Reply

